Ma Sunday Quote

Published February 9, 2014 by konchk

 Remember, if you ever need a helping hand, it’s at the end of your arm.

                                                                   -Audrey Hepburn?????????????????????????????????????

I’ve lost track of all the times when I should have repeated these words over in that precious clump of gray and white matter inside my skull until it would finally sink in so that I could I could stop so many unnecessary, preventable things from happening. I’m one of those…what do you call it? Not exactly helpless, no…Not a princess waiting for her prince. And certainly not a damsel in distress waiting to be rescued.  I am not completely an accident-prone fool. I do not always resemble a fragile mouse about to get smashed by a broom held by an angry hag. But something sort of similar to each of those. Maybe occasionally pathetic, I suppose.

But for me at least, all I know is that I am definitely wrong when I unintentionally believe that in order to add something meaningful to humanity, help/change people for the better, or something sappy like that, I’m not allowed take charge of my own life. That I shouldn’t stand up for myself. Instead I should wait  for someone to rescue me. I just never realized that absolutely everyone else is looking for the same thing, whether they’d like to admit it or not. The point is, people aren’t always going to be there for you when something bad/good happens, but you know who will? You. And you are the one who chooses your life.

I’m not suggesting to start acting selfishly and only care about what happens to you…I only think that, for people who constantly look for ways to please other people, should waste all that effort on themselves. To make themselves happy, and to rescue themselves from evil people. What I’m saying is that if you don’t absolutely have to be a martyr…don’t be. You should still reach out for people needing to be rescued, or whatever, but you matter as much as the next person. I don’t know…food for thought, I guess.

One comment on “Ma Sunday Quote

  • Leave a Reply

